Can't connect

Support forum for our Android applications like Clicker4Dog and GRBLDroid

Moderators: george, Excalibur!, skyheartblue, roger_rabbit, reburn

Can't connect

Postby Allan Z » Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:52 pm

I have a Galaxy Tab S. When I load GRBL Droid and try to connect and I get an error, (No driver) what driver do I need? I am trying to connect to a Shapeoko 3. My OTG cable works with memory sticks, ext hard drives etc. I am running GRBL 0.9.
Allan Z
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Can't connect

Postby trustfm » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:47 pm

Hello , I had try many things to change, but could't make it work.(( tested on 4 different devices, with diff. android versions 4.0.3, 4.1.2, 4.2.2, 5.02 and got same result - exits with error, when gets answer from grbl. Grbl version 0.9j, not genuine arduino, it's diy board with atmega328p at 16mhz . Comunication chips I had try, were ftdi232, pl2303 and cp2101.it works perfect on pc, and comunicate well via otg with any andoid usb terminal. Maybe I got error because of non genuine board? maybe there are some vid , pid filters. Could you fix it please? And for sure, it would be great to add bluetooth communication too.

Best regards.
----------------------

later ...
have good news, I have reflashed my arduino(after eeprom cleaning) with fresh compiled grbl and voila, it works )) but there is a little problem, it can't interpret commands longer than 79 characters and most of gcodes doesn't pass checking
trustfm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 4:40 pm

Re: Can't connect

Postby trustfm » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:48 pm

excellent !
This is a grbl limitation.
I do not know if there is a tool that changes the lines (cropping the numbers)
take a look here :
https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Interfacing-with-Grbl
error:Line overflow: Grbl has to do everything it does within 2KB of RAM. Not much at all.
So, we had to make some decisions on what's important.
Grbl limits the number of characters in each line to less than 80 characters (70 in v0.8, 50 in v0.7 or earlier), excluding spaces or comments.
The G-code standard mandates 256 characters, but Grbl simply doesn't have the RAM to spare.
However, we don't think there will be any problems with this with all of the expected G-code commands sent to Grbl.
This error almost always occurs when a user or CAM-generated G-code program sends position values that are in double precision (i.e. -2.003928578394852), which is not realistic or physically possible. Users and GUIs need to send Grbl floating point values in single precision (i.e. -2.003929) to avoid this error
trustfm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 4:40 pm


Return to Mobile Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron