Avi2Dvd menu background problem

Discussion about Avi2Dvd.
Requests and bug fixing.

Moderators: george, Excalibur!, skyheartblue, roger_rabbit, reburn

Avi2Dvd menu background problem

Postby unka2m » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:00 am

[font=Arial] [/font]
I'm new to burning dvds so hopefully this will be an elementary fix. I followed the tutorial about making menus with Avi2Dvd and everything seemed to work fine although after the AVI was converted to DVD, the menu wouldn't work properly. I tried using a background image from the provided list and also tried images captured from the video itself and both resulted in the same problem. The trouble seems to be in the highlighted and selected states of the buttons created. First of all, the tutorial shows three different states to set options for; idle, selected and highlighted. The version 0.5 that I've downloaded only offered selected and highlighted tabs. I don't know if this is contributing to my dilemma, which is this: After the conversion, which I've tried as an iso image, also as the VOB files being previewed on my pc and again as a burned dvd played on my standalone dvd player, (which I converted the AVI and remade the menu from scratch each of the many times I tried to come up with a solution) the menu would always appear with the background image I'd chosen overlayed by the .png image created for the highlighted buttons. In other words, the background picture was covered with the plain white background of the image that contained my button highlight images(which in this case were the yellow squares that would go around my start and chapter buttons).The plain white area would cover from the upper edge of the uppermost chapter button down to the lower edge of the lowest button. The background image would be in view above and below this white area that spanned the entire image from left to right. Clicking on any part of the menu, whether it was the background or any button, would result in the same white image that whic